dinsdag 22 mei 2012

Mourinho stays with Real Madrid until 2016

Mourinho at Real Madrid: titles and records

Celebración 32ª liga

The manager has won La Liga and the Copa del Rey, establishing impressive records at the club and in every championship, therefore prompting his contract to be extended to 2016.

Jose Mourinho has just finished his second season at Real Madrid. Since his presentation as the team's manager on 31 May 2010, he has won the 2011 Copa del Rey and the 2012 La Liga titles - the former was the club's first in 18 years. In two years, Mourinho has established countless records at the club and in every competition.

In his first season, Mournho coached the team to Copa del Rey glory, defeating Murcia, Levante, Atletico Madrid and Sevilla before winning 1-0 against Barcelona in what was possibly the best final in the tournament's history.

The manageer won the FIFA World Coach of the Year, La Gazzeta dello Sport's Man of the Year, the IFFHS World Coach of the Year and's Ideal XI awards during his first season at the club.

Mourinho won La Liga in his second campaign at Real, establishing impressive new records in the championship: the team took an unprecedented 100 points; scored a record 121 goals; won 32 games; earned the most victories, netted the most strikes and took the most points on the road (16, 51, 50); had the most turnarounds (9); and defeated all of its opponents.

Jose Mourinho is already the fifth Real Madrid coach with the largest number of victories in La Liga, and the one to reach the 50 victory mark fastest, needing only 62 encounters to do so. He has also defeated all 22 teams he's faced in the championship.

Real Madrid reached the Champions League semifinals two straight years, having played them last as far back as 2002/03. During the 2011/12 campaign, Real had the best run in the history of the competition's group stage by winning every single game.

With Mourinho at the helm, the Whites have scored 322 goals in 117 official encounters, and he has become the first coach in history to win league titles in Spain, England, Italy and Portugal.

Geen opmerkingen:

Een reactie posten